How to Get Brand Deals with Less Than 1k Followers

how-to-get-brand-deals-with-less-than-1k-followers-olivialucieblake

The biggest question that gets asked in the blogging world is how you get brand deals from blogging. And it really is the million dollar question, especially when thats something you want to do with your blog. So many people start blogging for it to be their main source of income. I commend those people, because it really is a hard to grow your blog and make money from it.There is this misconception that you have to have thousands and thousands of followers for companies and brands to want to work with you. And thats really not the case. There has been a rise in companies preferring to use nano and micro influencers.

NANO AND MICRO INFLUENCERS

Nano and micro influencers are people with social media accounts, who have a smaller follower count compared to your large macro influencer. Now you’re probably thinking why on earth would brands want to work with people with a small amount of followers. Well to me, it makes perfect sense. When you have a smaller more close-nit audience, their audience are more likely to trust what they say, and actually do what you want them to. A smaller audience doesn’t see the ‘influencer’ as a walking advertisement. They see them as friends who provide tips and advice to them. Which is a huge plus when brands are usually want to promote and sell something.

As a-bit of a back story, my first brand collaboration was when I had just hit 1k followers on WordPress. A company reached out to me and sent me some products in exchange for me to mention them on my blog. I only had 1k followers. In the grand scheme of things, thats small compared to other bloggers or social media influencers who have thousands more. So there is your proof that it works!

It really isn’t about how many followers you have or how many views you get each month. Which is why today I’m sharing some things you can do to secure those brand deals with companies, even if your follower count is small.

HAVE A MEDIA KIT

First and foremost, and one thing I think is the most important is having a media kit. A media kit is a portfolio type document which houses all of the important information about your and your social media presence. This is one thing you’ll need handy when reaching out to brands, as some request to see numbers before they will work with you.

I have created a free media kit template for you to use if you need one. Simply head to my home page and sign up to my news letter. The media kit template will be emailed directly to your email address!

SHOOT YOUR SHOT

As simple as that, shoot your shot and don’t be afraid. Don’t worry about being rejected because what do you have to lose? You get an email back saying they aren’t interested at this time, okay cool. Their loss! I have reached out to brands who I thought would never consider me as someone they would work with, and I was wrong and they couldn’t wait to work with me. You really don’t know unless you try.

One thing I learnt too is that you shouldn’t wait for brands to reach out to you. Send off some emails to brands you love, don’t wait around to receive a collab email. It might never come!

SHOW CONSISTENCY

Something very important in securing brand deals is to be consistent in your content and posting and also make sure you have a professional website. Brands love consistency, because it shows you are passionate about what you do and you care about it too. Consistency looks different to everyone, consistency to me is posting regularly throughout the week and being active on social media. Consistency to you might be posting once a week and posting a few times on social media. It doesn’t matter about numbers, what matters is that you are posting on a regular basis.

BE PROFESSIONAL

Making sure your site is professional and that you are professional is also important. Almost pretend that the brand is an employer. You want to impress them and have them hire you. So make sure you are polite and kind whenever you are sending emails or corresponding with any brands.

Okay you might not have a tonne of followers but that doesn’t mean the quality of your content or the look of your website can’t be at that professional level. It might take some time and money to make it look as best as it can, but it will be worth it.

What I’m trying to say here is that you don’t need loads of followers to look good to a brand. A brand will see how hard you work and how much time and effort you put into your website when they visit and see it for themselves.

Are you nervous of reaching out to get brand deals?
What holds you back?
Have you been rejected before?

Olivia x 
• Instagram • Twitter  • Pinterest

AML AROMAS ARE A LINCOLNSHIRE BASED BRAND WHO MAKE LUXURY SOY WAX MELTS. THEY ARE 100% VEGAN AND CRUELTY FREE. THEY HAVE A GREAT SELECTION OF CHRISTMAS SCENTS FOR THE MONTH OF DECEMBER! BE SURE TO FOLLOW THEM ON INSTAGRAM AT @AMLAROMAS

67 thoughts on “How to Get Brand Deals with Less Than 1k Followers

  1. Yes!!! I’ve reached out to a few and been rejected by all. You’re right about that being the worst they could do, and after some point you become desensitized to it which makes it easier to do!

    Like

  2. Thank you for the info Olivia! I’m transitioning over from my own blog on another site and your information has helped me tremendously. This is my passion and I want others to feel that way, when they read my work 😊

    Like

    1. I think whatever company feels right for you and who matches your brand. I usually have an idea if its the kind of company who will fit in nicely with my blog and my brand.

      Like

  3. Thanks for this post!! This is something that I would like to do eventually. I have a small following at the moment and working on trying to find brand deals on Instagram and for the blog too. Do you have any suggestions on how to find brand deals that will work with blogs with a smaller following?

    Like

    1. I think its best for you to reach out to brands who will fit well in your niche. I also guess you need to forward think about it too. If you work with that particular brand, will you be able to mention and add it into your content whilst staying within your normal niche/category of posts. For example, I wouldn’t reach out to a brand who want support around car safety. I don’t own a car, and have never mentioned vehicles on my blog. I know it just wouldn’t fit.

      I hope that makes sense!

      Like

  4. Really useful post, thank you for sharing these tips xx I don’t really know how to reach out to a brand but will have a think xx

    Like

  5. This is great to know. I will need to work on a media kit and getting a domain for my blog as soon as possible. Nice to know that it’s okay to reach out to brands even when you have a small following.
    That’s a great point, that a small following makes your community more like a family.
    Makes me feel better about the progress of my blog.

    Like

  6. Is IG a requirement? I don’t use social media other than WP if that counts as social media. I have a free domain since my domain was taken, and I am too stubborn to adopt a new name for my blog. I am hoping to get better at blogging and eventually do product reviews.

    Like

      1. I have IG but haven’t used it since 2018. I found myself spending way too much time on IG and it was interfering with other areas of my life. It’s addictive lol which is why I left. It’s still there, but I gave my password to my husband.

        Like

  7. This is helpful. Thanks Olivia! I’m not at the point of reaching out to brands yet, I hardly have any followers lol. I hope to get there eventually! I’ve downloaded you media kit and it’s really helpful.

    Like

  8. Only yesterday I started my account on wordpress. I read many of your blog post. Still reading. They are amazing and helpful. Thank you!

    Like

  9. Amazing message about reaching out instead of waiting for things to happen. Oftentimes people think they’ll automatically receive offers once they reach a certain number, but that’s seldom the case.

    Also applies to everything else in life.

    Thanks for this useful post, Olivia!

    Like

Leave a Reply